Little Rock Weekend Getaway

My husband and our two pups recently took a weekend trip to Little Rock, Arkansas, which is a little over three hours from our Shreveport home. The chief reason for this trip? The Red Hot Chili Peppers. RHCP is one of my husband’s all-time favorite bands, and their tour included a stop in Little Rock.

I was less than enthused about venturing to Arkansas. My memories of Arkansas include never-ending road trips from Alabama to Fayetteville, Arkansas for Alabama football games. It felt like we were on those winding roads for years, and I said I would never go back.

I was wrong.

18056888_10208877694632224_3743474374585349466_n
Shirt: Amazon, Shoes: Modcloth, Bag: Modcloth, Jeans: Gap, Jacket: H&M, Sunnies: Amazon 

Little Rock is adorable, and I apologize for all the bad things I’ve said about it. The downtown is bustling, clean and cute. It has a mix of a city and small town vibe. The Arkansas River is parallel to downtown, providing great views. I regret that we were only in Little Rock for one night, but I hope to go back soon.

Our Hotel 

IMG_8954

We stayed at the Residence Inn in downtown Little Rock. The location was withing walking distance to many bars, restaurants and shops. It’s also close to the Farmer’s Market, which we unfortunately missed. Residence Inns are pet-friendly and reasonably priced, which is why we stay at them often. This one was either fairly new or had been remolded recently.

18057156_10208877693072185_4575960768433793999_n

Scuttle and Mookie loved the hotel! There was a nice green space near the parking lot with poop bags, and they enjoyed having a spacious room. There were also magnets you could put on your door to let the staff know pets were inside. This was Mookie’s first hotel stay, and we were very proud of her!

IMG_8918
Three Fold Noodle and Dumplings Co. in Downtown Little Rock

We ate dinner before the concert at the Three Fold Noodle and Dumplings Company in downtown. It’s a hip, counter service restaurant in a revitalized bank with cool tile floors and a vault door. They serve a variety of noodle and dumpling bowls with vegetarian options. I ordered the chicken noodle bowl with pickled veggies, cilantro, green onions and the spicy sauce. You pick your toppings, just like Chipotle or Moe’s. I ate almost all of my food, and the sweet staff member made my bowl extra spicy. Kent ordered pork steamed dumplings and said they were great. We ordered some sesame balls for dessert, and they were delicious. Prices are reasonable, and portions are generous.

18056919_10208877692152162_6953365180073539470_n

After dinner, it was time for the Red Hot Chili Peppers at the Verizon Arena. The venue was a bit warm, and I am incredibly cold natured. I don’t know if there was some kind of ventilation problem. RHCP was great. I’m not a big fan, but they still perform with high energy. My husband, the true fan, was very thankful to have seen them. They played for two hours and did two encores.

18157326_10208877694152212_4082358384497957218_n

We slept in Sunday morning and checked out of our hotel. We took the pups to ZAZA, a pizza place in the Heights area of Little Rock. This neighborhood was very cute and reminded me of the Birmingham, Alabama suburb, Homewood. ZAZA was delicious. We tried the house salad (goat cheese, spinach and berries). It was large enough to split. I ordered the Atomica pizza sans anchovies (spicy mozzarella, capers, Parmesan, sriracha and tomato sauce). It was spicy, tangy and delicious. I’m a sucker for capers on pizza. I cannot remember what Kent ordered, but I would bet it was pepperoni and mushroom. We ate our entire pizzas, which is probably too much for one person, but they were SO GOOD.

18057860_10208877694472220_3450552851509759882_n

We ended the meal with their amazing gelato. I got have pistachio and half Belgian chocolate (pictured above). You receive a generous serving, and the gelato was creamy, rich and delicious. I want some right now.

We sat on the patio at ZAZA with Scuttle and Mookie. The staff was very nice and brought Scuttle and Mookie a water bowl.

After stuffing ourselves, we made the journey back to Shreveport. I can’t wait to spend more time in Little Rock.

Again, I’m sorry for everything I said about you, Little Rock. You’re pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

